Your Options After A DUI/DWI Arrest

Amy PietrowskiIf you have never been pulled over on suspicion of drunk driving, talking to a police officer at a DUI/DWI stop can be disorienting. Mississippi stipulates fines for those convicted of DUI — even for your first offense — as well as the possibility of jail time. The state also takes a "zero tolerance" stance toward underage DUI, so even youth under age 21 who have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .02 to .07 percent can be penalized with fines or other sentences if convicted. If an underage youth has a BAC of .08 percent, they are treated as an adult by the justice system.

I am attorney Amy Pietrowski. At my firm, the Pietrowski Law Practice, I have defended many clients on DUI/DWI charges, including underage clients and college students. A drunk driving arrest, or a related charge such as public intoxication, can have long-lasting consequences. A skilled criminal defense attorney can help you find a solution to your charge that will not have a permanent negative impact on your record or your community standing.

An Introduction To Mississippi DUI/DWI Laws

If you or a family member is facing a court date due to a DUI arrest, it is essential that you understand several basic facts about intoxicated driving laws in the state, including:

  • Penalties for a DUI conviction start with a $250 fine and 48 hours in jail for the first offense, and can escalate to a fine of $5,000 and five years in prison for the third or subsequent convictions.
  • Penalty enhancements added to convictions can include a suspended driver's license or mandated use of a vehicle interlock ignition system.
  • First-time DUI convictions may be eligible for expungement after five years if the defendant follows all terms and conditions of the sentence imposed on them.

As your lawyer, I will explore all avenues that can lead to a positive result in your case, including the possibility of having your sentence go through the nonadjudication process.

Call Me At 662-372-1622 For No-Nonsense DUI Counsel

I can begin working with you at the police station at the time of your arrest. Call my mobile number at 662-891-6477 if you need a jail visit, or call 662-372-1622 to make an appointment at my offices in Oxford. You may also reach out to me by email if you prefer.